So.. Who Are You?

So, after protests from a few friends regarding me starting a blog of my own (mainly due to private thoughts they already know) I decided to go ahead and do it. Who knows, maybe it’ll help me out a little better and keep my blood pressure down (HA). So, let’s see.. I guess the first post for this snazzy place of mine should be about me?

My name is Shelby. I’m a wife & a mother. My family is my world – and there’s nothing in this world I wouldn’t do for them. I’m twenty-one years old. My husband and I have been together for three years, married for just about two. He’s honestly my best friend. He knows me better than most – and we’ve come a long way in three years. I’m not going to sit here and say it’s been perfect as a field of daisy’s – it has been rough. Thankfully, with the grace of GOD.. we’re at a great place in our marriage. We’ve both come a long way, and we’ve both made a bunch of changes within ourselves. For a while, I honestly didn’t know how it was going to go – but we worked through it. See, I’m not like most of the people I know my age who are married – just because something goes wrong, I’m not about to walk away and instantly file for divorce. I wasn’t raised that way – I was born in a family where if it’s BROKE you FIX it. Now, I wouldn’t go as far as to say we were broken – we just went through some tough times and GOD threw a few tests our way.. We made it through everything & I honestly couldn’t be happier. Three years later, we’re still very much in love with each other and we both feel the same way about each other – despite past mistakes, fights and what have you.

 

My son, Landon, is ten months old. He’ll turn one on May 20th of this year. He is my little fighter & literally my heart walking outside of my body. He has taught me so much since GOD brought him into this world, about children.. love.. life.. myself.. My husband and I went through several miscarriages & fertility treatments in order for us to have him.. and there’s not a day that goes by where I don’t thank GOD. My daughter Sydni is due six days after his first birthday, isn’t that exciting? (: No, she wasn’t planned – well, she kinda was.. but not this early! GOD works in mysterious ways though, and even though the timing wasn’t what we wanted.. we’re very excited for Sydni to arrive and for our family to be 100% complete.

 

We live with my dad & younger sister – and we’re happy about that. After my mom died in 2012.. things got rough. Dad’s got a heart condition & my sister wasn’t done growing up.. so.. it just made it easier for us to move in. Dad didn’t take mom’s passing well (then again, no one really did.. he just dealt with it a different way then we all did..) and well.. he’s gotten a lot better. Things will never be “normal” again, like they were when Mom was alive.. but.. I think the best way to put it is… we’ve gotten to a new kind of “normal”.  I think you’ll learn quickly that my family can be a little bit dysfunctional & honestly, I’m pretty sure all of us should be in therapy for one reason or another.. but.. it’s my family.

 

I’m currently not working, and thankfully Jerry (the DH) makes enough money to where it shouldn’t have to stress me out right now. I’m mainly not working right now due to pregnancy complications and a whole lot of jazz that will come in a later post. I am, however, going to school in the fall to start my path on becoming a neonatal nurse. It took me a while to figure out exactly what my “calling” was – and after much prayer and soul searching, I’m confident that GOD is pointing me towards becoming a neonatal nurse. Landon spent a while in the hospital after he was born – because of him having Galactosemia. He ended up getting really sick & had to have two surgeries within his first month of life.. I hope and pray that I’ll be able to touch the lives of children and families the way the nurses who took care of Landon did.

 

As you probably gathered a few paragraphs up from this one, Sydni will be the last child my husband & I will ever have. It’s because of two reasons – and no, neither of the reasons is because we don’t want more children. When we first started out in our relationship, we had talked about having three or four children. Landon has galactosemia – and we’re pretty sure once he hits the school years.. every day stuff will require a lot of energy. Another reason is.. my body doesn’t exactly handle pregnancy’s very easy. Considering the fact that we’ve been through four miscarriages, fertility treatments, bedrest during my pregnancy with Landon and now bedrest with Sydni.. it wasn’t recommended by my doctors. Honestly, the doctor I went to during my pregnancy with Landon asked us to hold off for a while before we even tried for another one.. but, alas.. birth control fails. Seriously though, it’s just too hard on my body & Jerry’s pretty scared that if we even try again something’s going to happen to me. I may not be happy, but.. the biggest point? I’m blessed to have my son & my soon to be daughter. They’re honestly all I need.

 

Magnolias & Sweet Tea as a blog title? You got it. I love the smell of magnolia’s and – you guessed it – I love sweet tea! Hey, I’m from the south, so what do you honestly expect? Where at in the south? South Carolina, to be exact.

 

So.. that’s the introductory post.. I’ll probably post another one in a day or two.. give me a break though, I do have a 10 month old who’s been walking since 8 1/2 months and he keeps me PRETTY busy…

 

See you soon!

-Shel

Leave a Reply

